Follow by Email

Monday, October 24, 2016

Meet Extension’s EDA Team

EDA Team, L-R: Jane Schuchardt, ECOP National Office; Nancy Bull, Northeast Cooperative
Extension Directors; Ron Brown, Assoc. of Southern Region Extension Directors;
Robin Shepard, North Central Cooperative Extension Assoc.; Lyla Houglum, Western
Extension Directors Assoc.; Sandy Ruble, ECOP National Office; and 
L. Washington Lyons, Assoc. of Extension Administrators.
Visibility, opportunity and accountability for Cooperative Extension focuses the day-to-day work of the Executive Director and Administrator Team (EDA Team). See for how the EDA Team strategically works in support of ECOP national leadership to benefit Extension state and local programming. This document resulted from a recommendation of the ECOP Personnel Committee, co-chaired by Celvia Stovall, Alabama A&M University, and Mike O’Neill, University of Connecticut, which conducted a review of the EDA Team model. 

YOU’RE INVITED: 4-H Luncheon 11.13.16 – National 4-H Council cordially invites Directors and Administrators to the annual luncheon meeting of the National Panel of Extension Directors and Administrators at the APLU Annual Meeting on Sunday, November 13, from 11:45 A.M. to 1:30 P.M. at the JW Marriott in Austin, Texas. To assist Council in making adequate arrangements for the luncheon, if you do not plan to attend please send your regrets to Jen McIver by Friday, November 4, at National 4-H Council hosts this luncheon; there is no charge to attend. 

Michelle Rodgers, University of Delaware
CES/NEDA 2016 Meeting Gets High Marks  – ECOP Chair Michelle Rodgers, University of Delaware, appreciates responses to the evaluation of the 9.21.16 meeting at Jackson Lake Lodge, WY. Responses from about half of the 75 people attending showed satisfaction and usefulness of the meeting The survey also resulted in clear ideas for the 2017 meeting scheduled for October 2-4 near Burlington, Vermont

eXtension Names Five Fellows for 2016 – The eXtension Foundation is proud to announce the four new Fellows in its seventh annual eXtension Fellowship program and the first new eXtension/GODAN Fellow. The four new 2016 eXtension Fellows are: Dave Francis, Utah State University; Daphne Richards, Texas A&M; Christian Schmieder, University of Wisconsin; and Laura Thompson, University of Nebraska. The new eXtension/GODAN Fellow is Justin G. Smith, Washington State University. The eXtension Fellowship program is offered in partnership with USDA-NIFA and dedicated to developing projects on applied innovation in U.S. Cooperative Extension settings. The eXtension/GODAN Fellowship is offered through a partnership with Global Open Data for Agriculture and Nutrition (GODAN), and it focuses on testing and demonstrating protocols, including the use of competency frameworks, to make eXtension and Extension information more open, accessible and linked to open research and data. See for details on all fellows. 

National Health Conference Proposals Due 10.28.16 – The National Health Outreach Conference, themed “Navigating the World of Health: A Sea of Opportunity,” is May 2-4, 2017 in Annapolis, MD. Conference tracks are individual and family, organizational health, community health, environmental health and safety, and health policy and systems change. Submit proposals at Direct questions to Elizabeth Kiss, Program Committee Co-Chair, Kansas State University, The 2017 National Health Outreach Conference is hosted by University of Maryland Extension. 

Bev Durgan, University of Minnesota, and
Mike O’Neill, University of Connecticut
LEAD21 Applications Due 11.15.16 – Cooperative Extension directors serving on the Leadership for the 21st Century (LEAD21) Board of Directors are Bev Durgan, University of Minnesota, and Mike O’Neill, University of Connecticut. They encourage application for the next LEAD21 cohort by the mid-November deadline. Apply online at Direct questions to Rochelle Sapp, Program Director,