Follow by Email

Friday, October 14, 2016

Extension, USDA-NIFA, APLU to Honor Excellence in Extension

L-R, Stephen Green, Texas A&M University; Fe Moncloa, Shannon Horillo,
Russell Hill, University of California (not pictured, Dorina Espinoza and Keith Nathaniel)
Stephen D. Green, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, will receive the 2016 Excellence in Extension Award for developing programs proven to increase knowledge of best practices in child care, enhanced opportunities for early childhood professionals, and improved involvement by fathers with their children. A second honor, the National Extension Diversity Award, goes to University of California Agriculture and Natural Resources 4-H Youth Development Program Intercultural Development Inventory Qualified Administrators. The California Extension team is Dorina Espinoza, Russell Hill, Shannon Horrillo, Fe Moncloa, and Keith Nathaniel. Both awards will be presented at the 129th Annual Meeting of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) in Austin, TX, Nov. 13-15. The Excellence in Extension Award is a prestigious national recognition given annually to one Cooperative Extension professional for visionary leadership, excellence in programming, and positive impact on their community. The National Diversity Award recognizes an Extension program for achieving and sustaining diversity and pluralism. In addition to the national recognition, one Extension educator from each of the five Cooperative Extension regions will be recognized for excellence at the APLU Annual Meeting. The 2016 regional winners are Karnita Golson-Garner, Alabama A&M University (1890s Institutions); Nozella L. Brown, Kansas State University (north central region); Richard W. Taylor, University of Delaware (northeast region); Stanley Culpepper, University of Georgia (southern region), and Terry Allan Messmer, Utah State University (western region). USDA-NIFA and Extension have sponsored the Excellence in Extension and National Diversity awards since 1991. 

eXtension Announces Release of Horizon Report for Cooperative Extension – In February 2016, the eXtension Foundation created a partnership with the New Media Consortium (NMC) and the ECOP Innovation Task Force. The purpose was to create a custom Horizon Report to identify key emerging technologies and methodologies that are predicted to impact Cooperative Extension in the next five years. Led by eXtension CEO Chris Geith, eXtension Innovation Lab Director Jerry Thomas, and ECOP Innovation Task Force Chair Keith Smith, 56 Extension experts worked through the NMC research process this summer to produce the NMC Technology Outlook for Cooperative Extension 2016-2021. In announcing the release, Smith said, “This first-ever Horizon Report on Cooperative Extension helps unify our understanding of the technologies, topics and trends predicted to affect Extension’s national mission and the local communities our professionals serve in the immediate future. With this knowledge, we can prepare and work together to focus our efforts and resources on creating innovations in programming and ideas that will deliver the greatest impact in meeting future community needs.” Here find the full report and a summary of the trends, challenges and other developments identified in the research. 

Meeting in Wyoming last month were (L to R) Michelle Rodgers, Delbert Foster,
Martha Bernadett, Jennifer Sirangelo, Fred Schlutt, Cathann Kress and Nick Place.
Extension Leadership Supports National 4-H Council Board Restructure – During the Joint ESS/CES-NEDA Meeting in Jackson Hole, WY on September 21, National 4-H Council CEO Jennifer Sirangelo discussed recommended changes to Council’s Board of Trustees with Directors and Administrators. Joining her at the meeting was Trustee Dr. Martha Bernadett, Executive VP at Molina Healthcare and Chair of Council’s Board Governance Committee. With a goal of maximizing Council’s financial support of Cooperative Extension, the Board has recommended reducing its size and establishing a formal relationship with the ECOP 4-H Leadership Committee. Council leadership discussed the initiative at summer regional meetings and collected input. Directors and Administrators present at NEDA voted overwhelmingly in favor of the change, which include new accountability mechanisms to ensure continued alignment and oversight into the future. An overview of the changes and FAQ document can be found at

4-H Youth in Action Awards Submission Deadline: October 24 – With just one week to go, the deadline to apply for the 2017 Youth in Action Awards is imminent. The Awards highlight the achievements of youth and Extension's 4-H programs across the country in four core areas – Agriculture, Citizenship, Healthy Living and STEM – with one national Youth in Action Award winner being selected from the four pillar winners. Each pillar winner will receive a $5,000 scholarship for higher education (with the overall winner receiving an additional $5,000), be featured as the 4-H Youth Spokesperson for their pillar area and receive an all-expenses paid trip to Washington D.C. to be recognized at National 4-H Council’s Legacy Awards on March 21, 2017. For more information on the Awards, visit:!youth-in-action

Louie Tupas, Denise Eblen and Mike Fitzner, USDA-NIFA
ECOP Welcomes New USDA-NIFA Liaisons – Louie Tupas, Denise Eblen and Mike Fitzner, USDA-NIFA administrators for bioenergy, climate and energy; food safety and nutrition, and plant protection systems, respectively, have been named as liaisons to ECOP. This critical role involves interaction with ECOP during all its meetings, reporting on USDA-NIFA plans and accomplishments that involve Cooperative Extension, and assuring continual attention to the collaborative partnership focused on priorities of interest to both. ECOP, chaired by Michelle Rodgers, University of Delaware, is appreciative of these three professionals who will work as a team to link with Cooperative Extension. 

SNAP-Ed Survey Due 10.28.16 – The 2017 Census of State SNAP-Ed Implementing Agencies is in the field. The survey results will how the new Interpretive Guide of the SNAP-Ed Evaluation Framework is being used, profile which of the 51 outcomes are being addressed, and identify state implementing agency interests in technical assistance and training. The survey is sponsored by the Association of SNAP Nutrition Education Administrators and the University of Colorado, Denver. State implementing agency respondents were designated by their USDA Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) Regional Coordinator. Results will be reported as aggregates, not by state, and used for planning, tracking trends and stakeholder communications. Responses are due by October 28, 2016. For questions, please contact Susan Foerster at