Follow by Email

Monday, August 18, 2014

ECOP Monday Minute 8.18.14

ECOP Chair 2016 Named – The Northeast Extension Directors chaired by Rick Rhodes, University of Rhode Island, has named Michelle Rodgers, University of Delaware, as ECOP chair for 2016. Delbert Foster, South Carolina State University, will accept the gavel from current chair Jimmy Henning, University of Kentucky, during the November 3, 2014 Cooperative Extension dinner at the APLU Annual Meeting in Orlando, FL. The five Cooperative Extension regions name ECOP Chairs for this critical national leadership role on a rotational basis in the order of 1890s institutions, northeast, west, north central, and south. The individual named serves for a minimum of three years as chair-elect, chair, and immediate past chair. 

ECOP Names CLP Representative – James Trapp, Oklahoma State University, will represent Cooperative Extension on the Board on Agriculture Assembly Committee on Legislation and Policy (CLP) effectively immediately. The committee, chaired by Gregory Bohach, Mississippi State University, focuses on federal legislation, primarily provisions affecting the various sections of the Board on Agriculture Assembly through farm bill authorizations. CLP will meet during the APLU Annual Meeting in early November 2014 in Orlando, FL. 

County Specific Details from NACo – Karon Harden, Director of Professional Development, Education and Training, National Association of Counties (NACo), announces the new County Intelligence Connection (CIC) The site allows for searches on more than 500 indicators for cities, counties and all counties within a state. 

Military Extension Internship Applications Due 9.30.14The Military Extension Internship Program is accepting applications for Spring 2015 internships. Internships are on active military installations across the U.S. and around the world working with military child and youth programs. See for job descriptions, application details, intern profiles, and FAQs. Funding is provided through a partnership between Cooperative Extension via USDA-NIFA and the U.S. Department of Defense. Questions can be directed to Jessica Wandless, Purdue University Cooperative Extension Service Internship Coordinator, at

Foundation for Food and Agricultural Research UpdateFormer U.S. Agriculture Secretary Dan Glickman and Mississippi State University President Mark Keenum have been named chair and vice-chair, respectively, of the new Foundation for Food and Agricultural Research. Authorized by the Agriculture Act of 2014, the foundation will operate as a non-profit corporation seeking and accepting private funds. Congress provided $200 million for the foundation, which must be matched by non-federal funds as projects are identified and approved. For more information, including the complete roster of board members, see The research funded by the foundation will address such issues as plant and animal health, food safety and nutrition, renewable energy, natural resources, environment, agricultural and food security, and agriculture systems and technology.